Meditation of an Asian Bimbo

British Comedy – Pulling

Posted on: 17/05/2010

I have not really watched tv in a while. I mean that literally since I have been stuck and staring at the computer for most the time that my eye can sustain.

Things have changed with this DVD Series that I bought a few months back.

PULLING is about three single women (SATC Flashback minus Miranda and each of their own place…oh and minus the fashionable outfits) just going about their lives. Donna (middle) is engaged to a boring guy Karl but later broke it off thinking that her life should be more exciting. Karen (right) is drunk and promiscuous and she is the person they hate to love. Louise is naive, works in a cafe and has her own version of being the hopeless romantic.

I just love the dry comedy and other than LITTLE BRITAIN, this is the only other British Comedy I have become attached to…so far.

One line from this show just stuck in my head. It made me two hours late for work but I swear it was soooo worth it. Well, I was also doing my laundry but that is besides the point.

Where was I?

Oh the line. The scene was when all of Karen and Donna were in the kitchen. Karen was trying to defend her rekindled relationship with Billy, an ex tried to kill her…and she requited by stabbing him on the leg. Donna, being the Carrie – type, thinks that they are bad for each other. Louise joins in and fills in on his date with Mike…

“Oh Mike is a lovely man. It’s just we really talk and he’s so honest and REVEALING and REALLY HONEST. I just don’t want to rush him. I mean he’s been through a lot so he hasn’t had a relationship for a long time, because…well you know, he’s been hurt in the past and LEGALLY SPEAKING HE HAS TO REPORT ANY CONTACT WITH WOMEN TO HIS PAROLE OFFICER SO…” 

It is at this point that she reveals that she was dating an EX FLASHER. In case you are naive enough, a flasher is someone who exposes his privates…in this case, to 16 year old girls. Louise backed it up with 16 being the rightful, legal age when girls could make decision so she was alright with it.

LOL-ing my head right now. I am so rewatching this part.

Been looking for the clip with that dialogue on Youtube. Couldn’t find it but here is Louise on something else. 🙂 Oh and that is Karl, Donna’s ex fiance, who has the Hitler mustache.

If anyone could get hold of the DVD’s, please do. There are only two seasons. A total of 12 eps. Although, it has raked in several awards and good ratings, it wasn’t picked up for a third season although they did a one final episode one hour-long to wrap up the story lines.

I think I will be quoting some of their dialogues from here on out.

Note to self: When you start slapping your thigh and bobbing your head back and forth…

START QUOTING!!!

Just in case, and I am pulling out my TV Series Critique Card here, it was written by Sharon Horgan and Dennis Kelly and stars Sharon Horgan as Donna, Tanya Franks as Karen, Rebekah Staton as Louise and Cavan Clerkin as Karl.

2 Responses to "British Comedy – Pulling"

Hahaha! Not bad! 🙂 I may have to watch the episodes on YouTube though.

That girl is hilarious!! — “Oh what a coincidence!!”

“WHAT TIME???”

HAHAHA!!!

I know. I know…that u see both of us in her. LOL!!!

Leave a comment

Bimbo Stats

  • 32,884 hits

The Bimbo

THE BIMBO

Enter your email address to get the Bimbo in you Mailbox.

Join 2 other subscribers